Paul Asgeirsson – 6/11/1932 to 3/22/2011

I’ve created this page for friends of Paul to share their experiences, photos and personal expression in memory of Paul Asgeirsson. Ever the British car enthusiast and in particular, of the Morris Minor, he was a friend and confidant of many who shared the same interest and love of the LBC hobby. His name was synonymous with Morriservice. Always ready to lend a helping hand and a bit of advice whether it was about a car problem or the trouble you were having with your kids or an ex-wife. He could be serious but would always leave you with an anecdote, a joke or a bit of his philosophy that would leave you smiling. He knew his stuff when it came to all of it. I’m sure we all thought he’d be around forever, and in so many ways he will be.

Paul behind the wheel at Buster Cluster - Photo by Al Clemens

I, like so many of you, will miss him dearly.

Rest in Peace.

About Gerard

West Coast British Car enthusiast.
This entry was posted in Comments and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to Paul Asgeirsson – 6/11/1932 to 3/22/2011

  1. Wil says:

    I’m greatly saddened that I never had the chance to meet Paul. It is huge loss to all his friends & admirers, to the LBC world, indeed to the entire world, that such a good person is gone.

  2. Paul Van Wig says:

    I guess I’ve known Paul for around 30 years.
    Always a joy to share information with, and as a Pattern Maker car nut we had lots to talk about. Back in the days of my hot 1293 Minor I tore up a lot of transmissions so I had lots of parts. Paul stopped by looking a particular part and found it. He also recommended which parts to trash, cutting the stack almost in half.
    My British vise has been dormant for years but I try to keep up.
    I chatted with Paul about his cancer treatment, my wife is a 12-year Breast Cancer survivor, so it is a subject I know too much about.
    He will be missed!

  3. Bill L. says:

    I live about 50 miles north of Paul’s place. I met him at the PDX-ABFM where he had his display for 5 speeds. I saw the quality of the parts and asked where I should get my engine rebuilt. He said that HE should do it. His price was competitive so I bit. That was just the first of many services. About a year later I drove to his place and we (I helped but he did most of the work) put one of his 5 speeds into the red thing. He showed me how to tune SU’s. We replaced tie rod rack boots, we changed the rear pumpkin, fuel pump, etc, etc. Each time he taught and I learned. Without his patience I wouldn’t have been able to keep my car running, let alone have enough confidence in it to drive cross country. We were planning to make the trip to LoTO together, when he fell ill the first time, and he was hoping to make the trip to Wisconsin this year as well.
    Always personable, always with a story, with him I went to see the Steam Trains when they came to Portland (one of his passions) and a Pipe Organ concert. It was about more than just British cars and my life is richer for having known him. I miss being able to call him up just to chat. We lost a great one when he passed.

  4. Frank Clarici says:

    I only had the chance to meet Paul twice, once in Chicago where we chatted over lunch and again at the Buster Cluster where we spent a weekend restoring Buster’s Bugeye in Anaheim, California.
    He sent me a laminated card with the ball detents for a ribcase transmission which is still on my wall above my workbench. I labeled it last night with a thank you. He was just a great person in general and will surely be missed.

  5. Bryan Durham says:

    Rest in Peace Paul.
    Your lights will always work and you’ll find first without grinding…..

  6. Ron Corry says:

    I am so sorry to learn of Paul’s demise.

    I bought one of his kits about ten years ago, and he could not do more for me to ensure
    an easy fitting.

    Living in Ireland brought certain difficulties in the procurement of the kit. Happily, a business trip to NC via NY (Albany) allowed me to bring over a flywheel with me. On arrival in Albany, I mailed it to Paul, and he returned it to me, re-drilled, PDQ, as I only had a short stay in Albany.

    The kit itself came at the same time and later when I started to fit it, I had some very minor queries, and Paul took the trouble to call me IN IRELAND a number of times at HIS expense to sort them out. His last call was just to ensure that all was OK!

    He was a true gentleman and genius, and I miss him sadly.

    Driving my Frogeye/Bugeye in future, his memory will always be with me, especially when I change up into 5th gear!

    May he rest in peace.

    ’59 AN5 “Oggibip” + PaulA 5-Speed
    Co. Wicklow, Ireland

    • Gerard says:

      Hi Ron,

      It’s been ages since I’ve heard from you. Great to hear from you and thanks for relating the story about Paul. Nice to hear from you from “across the pond”. That was definitely the way Paul did things.

      Gerard

      • Ron Corry says:

        Hi Gerard,
        Thank you for your kind remarks. Indeed, it is a long time since you helped me track down the details on the Riley 1.5 brakes on the rear of “Oggibip”. I have been lurking all along on the Sprite lists; there have been lots of things going on in my life. Now that I have retired, I seem to have even less time! The latest project is a 1995 Land Rover Defender 90 County + 2.5 Tdi. There’s about another week’s work on it, and she’s ready for the road.
        I would also like to thank you for creating this blog in Paul’s memory. It is a wonderful gesture by you to enable guys like myself to celebrate the life of a special and decent gentleman.
        Kindest regards,
        Ron.

  7. Leroy Valentin says:

    I never met Paul, but we had many phone conversations. It always felt like I was talking to a lifelong friend. It is difficult not to mourn, but people like him should be celebrated and memories revisited often. Leroy

  8. Jay Fishbein says:

    My reaction to the news of Paul’s death was that it “just sucks” because Paul was too nice of a guy.

    I only met Paul in person once, at the Buster Cluster in ’06, and he was a genuinely nice, kind, and down-to-earth individual. He was personable, ready and willing to help, and full of knowledge and enthusiasm. Paul possessed more mechanical knowledge on A-series cars than most I have crossed paths with in my many years in and around this hobby.

    It’s strange how I can feel this loss of someone I barely knew, met only once, and chatted with only occasionally. I guess it’s not strange at all really, because I respected him for what he added to the hobby and his general unselfish nature. He truly lived the hobby.

    Rest in Peace, Paul.

  9. Buster Evans says:

    If a man’s life can be summed up by the friends he leaves behind, Paul had the richest life one could ever wish for. Unlike the typical introspective Icelanders, Paul was a people person who seemingly never met a person who was not a friend. His secret? He gave wholeheartedly and unreservedly of himself in all things to help others.

    Like most of the others here, I came to know Paul first through the Spridget pages, then in person when he showed up for the BusterCluster. In those four short days, others who came made it clear just how indebted they were for Paul for his depth of knowledge of our Spridgets, as well as the developer of what everyone continues to extol as the best transmission kits for them.

    How could I forget that at the BusterCluster, he was continually bashing his head on some of the tools I had hanging from the rafters. Or how, if he was not working on my Sprite, he was working on other cars that had been brought by their owners, or dispensing advice to people who would put it to use when they got home. And. of course, I well remember how Pam fell for him, head over heels. Had it been anyone else, I would have brought out the shotgun or .357 Python! His passing was especially devastating for her.

    As time passed, Paul and I remained in close contact, for his was valued advice. How he will be missed by Pam and myself.

  10. Pro Paper says:

    I only talked to paul twice on the phone several years ago…With embarresment I have to Admit I went with the rivergate, But wow, did I adire that man for his dedication and knowledge of the spridget…its always a gray day when we lose such a legand

    Some thing tells me that Paul and Tony Barnhill, are living it up big time.

    Prop and the Black Hole Midget

  11. Daniel Stapleton says:

    I’m sad that Paul has left us but assured that he is in peace in Heaven. I never got to meet Paul face to face though over the years we corresponded a lot (before we both got e-mail and went digital) and I was grateful for his advice and comments. He was an extremely knowledgeable expert on all things Morris Minor, A-series and of course the Datsun gearbox. Perhaps more importantly than being an expert he was an honest and really nice guy you could always count on to assist you when you needed it.

  12. I met Paul at the BusterCluster. Buster’s garage was not huge but had pleanty of room for a Bugeye and 24 nice people to play with it.
    Buster had so many parts and tools that he took to hanging vairous
    bits from the rafters on wire hooks and hunks of string. That allowed
    more workbench space for all of us to leave our beers while screwing
    misc bits on the car. The only down side was that Paul A.
    is so tall that he was continously walking into tools and parts
    hanging from the rafters, up to the point where his head was bleeding
    all the time. We started calling him “Tall Paul”!
    Look at some of the photos from the BusterCluster and you can see
    various cuts and bruses on Paul’s head.

    Just a small asside on Paul, with out gushing about what a great guy
    he was. We all know that already!

    Cheers,

    Bob in San Diego

  13. Lillis Larson says:

    I’m the tall blonde lady friend of Paul’s for the last 12 or 13 years. I appreciate all of you for posting these remembrances. He left a big hole, hard to fill.

    I always appreciated how Paul stepped up to help kids. Well…it was my fault he got into these situations…but he used to come with my to Parents Night Out at my church..three hours of kids. I have the advanced degrees in human development, but Paul was always better than I at interacting with kids. He respected them and was trly interested in them. He also helped out for a number of years at a family camp at the beach. It was for low income families, 5 days at no cost to them. We volunteered as peer counselors. Paul hiked with little kids in his assigned family, ate with them, dug in the sand, led donkeys for kids to ride. But he didn’t want to star in the variety show! And he brought me coffee every morning to my cabin to wake me up.

    Paul grew up in the Boston area, and had a big group of friends many years after graduating from a church sponsored private school. For years he wrote and sent an annual school newsletter, and kept up the alumni roster.

    Yep, he loved to talk. And drive and hike. Nope, he was not a housekeepter and his shop and house reflected that, but there were more important and fun things to do.
    His parents were immigrants from Iceland. He was married for over 25 years and he and his wife raised two “chosen” sons and two biological sons, living in S. California and Oregon. Paul’s first career was in the optical industry. He was a Boy Scout leader for years.

    Paul was at my home for a year (I live in Salem, OR) recovering from multiple mylenoma cancer. Thanks to stem cell harvesting, chemotherapy and reintroducing his stem cells, he was cancer free for a few years. After his stroke, he was also here for a few months. At that time, I was recovering from severe burns from an accident at an art fair, and couldn’t care for anyone long term. His sons moved him to an assisted living place in Escodido, CA for 10 months. They think he had a small stroke, then a larger one, and had very high blood pressure, possibly also the return of the cancer. I think he was ready to leave this life. Being unable to any of the things he loved to do took a toll on him.

    He saw me through hip replacement, eye surgery and burns. I was at the Burn Center for 6 weeks. Paul visited twice a day: in the AM often with a good cup of coffee, and in the evening, to tuck me in. He was so thoughtful, considerate, kind and reliable. He became part of my extended family, and I got to meet his.

    His 2 younger sons had the huge task of emptying his house and shop, selling his Morris Minors, and then his house. Joey and Tom shouldered a big burden for their dad.

    I’m so sad that Paul is not among us. Life goes on, but it will never be as rich.

    This message got too long…sorry. I knew a lot of you from stories Paul told. Thanks for being his friends.

  14. Gerard says:

    Hi Lillis,

    Thanks for filling us in on another side of Paul and sharing some of your experiences. I hope you’ve successfully recovered from your burns. I remember when that happened and hope you are doing better now. If you would like to add any photos of you together on any of these occasions, I think they would make a wonderful addition. please send them to my email address. I would love to post them here.

    • Lillis Larson says:

      Unfortunately, I have only prints of Paul…and I don’t know how to get them to you by email. I’m really sorry that I’m not more high tech.

      It is comforting to read these testamonials to Paul. Thanks again. LLL

  15. Janene Asgeirsson says:

    Memorial Gathering for Paul Asgeirsson

    April 10, 2011 – 1:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m.
    At the home of Joey and Janene Asgeirsson
    7705 Galleon Way, Carlsbad, CA 92009

    Please join us on April 10th to remember and honor the life of Paul Asgeirsson. All are welcome and we appreciate your passing this information on to any of Paul’s friends or family who would like to join us.

  16. Ed Perez says:

    I first met Paul at Rich Ball’s NOSHIT gathering in Everett, WA. It was my first experience with this type of event and a first for meeting many of the people I’ve spoken to on the forums. Paul drove his Morris up for the fun. I had just found that my engine was toast and Paul worked with me to tear it down (on our knees, in the grass….he never let me forget that) and explained every step of the way. I later got together with him at the Portland Jumble and he helped me with my 5 speed issues (One fix was using the broom stick in the tunnel to stop the banging drive shaft….I can’t believe that worked!). Once I was ready to host my own NOSHIT, he had to cancel to care for Lillis. I’m sorry that I missed him, but completely understand. I’m very pleased to have met him and had the experience of working with him on these cars. A little of him lives in all of us.

  17. Dave Gropper says:

    I never met Paul eye-to-eye but spoke with him several times and we exchanged a few emails. His advice was freely given and his encouragement helped me along the path.
    He is sorely missed.
    I am lucky to now have Pauls’ “OLD BLUE” and I’m working to keep it on the road.
    A bit of him lives on.

    • Nickie Asgeirsson Kettenring says:

      Oh! How he loved that car. See the little handle under the glove box? He put it there so the boys, when they were little, could stand and look out the window while riding with him.
      In those days it didn’t seem unsafe, or illegal, and the boys really enjoyed it!

      We will all miss him so much, Nickie

  18. callie asgeirsson garza says:

    Thank you everyone… I do have few pictures and memories of a out of this world grandfather. My grandpa was a man I adored,admired etc… he loved his cars and I can remember few summers watching him work and play. He was a wonderful man to talk to. He will truly be missed.

  19. Gerard says:

    Hello Callie,

    It sounds to me like there is a lot of your grandpa in you! Thanks for letting us hear from you.

  20. Carrie Asgeirsson says:

    To Dave,
    I am so glad that you are keeping my grandpa’s car on the road I remember being a teenager and him taking me out in it and thinking to my self “please don’t let my friends see me!” but once I got older and learned the value that the car had to him. Then I no longer felt embarrassed but proud to be seen out in a one of a kind car with my one of a kind grandpa. I miss him so much and he will always live on in our hearts and memory’s.
    And a little memory that I have with my grandpa was when he would travel back east to Boston he would take turns taking me or one of my other sisters, and he would take me around the town telling me the history and I love hearing and learning all kinda of new things and so I would always be so excited when he would tell me it was my turn to go travel with him (and plus it got me out of school for a week!). And now thanks to those great experiences I now travel a lot and take my own daughter with me.
    I miss and Love my grandpa very much he will always be missed.
    Also thank you all for sharing your great memory’s of my grandpa!

  21. Vigil says:

    There are so many things I would like to say about my good friend Paul. He had a vast knowledge in lots of different areas. He loved trains and knew as much about them as he did cars. Paul was a great person with the knowledge of all kinds of areas. He loved to share his knowledge with any one who asked for help. He had a passion for British cars in particular. He was well known in the Midget, Sprite and Morris community. He was happiest when he was talking to people and working on the little British cars. Even after his health problems he loved looking at British cars and visiting with people that owned them. Some of the best times I had in the last twenty years were when I was with Paul. Every time I went to Oregon he took time out to show me a new part of Portland I had never seen before. We would go down to the Rail Road tracks when different trains were passing through the area. Watch the boats and go for long walks. He would laugh when I would bitch about walking so far. Tell me I was so young I should enjoy more of the world around me. Then pass along more of his wisdom. We both enjoyed our weekly talks on the phone through the years. After he moved from Oregon to Escondido. He was always happy to see me on my visits. We remained close friends to the end. We would go places around San Diego. We attended several tech sessions put on by the AHCSD. We went to the park last year where some of his close old friends got together in his honor. When we would go out to lunch. We both would smile and joke about the things happening a round us. I miss him asking – why do you always try to do things the hard way – then his joyful laugh after wards. It was honor to know Paul and to be able to call him my friend. He was one the nicest people I have ever met in my life. It will take me some time get over him passing on. I am not sure I will ever be over him not being around. I know will miss him for many years in the future. They say you only have a few special friends in your life. Paul was one of those special friends in my life. By the comments on the Morris and other car groups he touched a lot of people in the same way.
    God Bless you Paul – Your friend for ever –

    Vigil

    .

  22. Sandy Larson Dean says:

    Hi, I’m Lillis’s sister from Seattle, WA. Paul well be greatly missed by our family. He became part of our lives when he and Lil came to Washington for Thanksgiving and Christmas. I well miss his strong hugs and his pie making ability. I appreciate him for all the help he’s been to my sister during her hip replacement surgeries and her severe burn in July 2009. Our thoughts are with his family and friends today as they hold their memorial . You well be missed Paul.

  23. Donald Galarneau says:

    I have known Paul for over 20 years, and consider him to be among my closest friends.
    We had a routine of meeting at a local bakery every Friday morning for coffee and a cookie. One morning he did not respond to repeated phone calls. At a visit to his home I found Paul in bed,and with his first words, I said “Paul you have had a stroke” A call to 911 brought the medics and a trip to the hospital.

    Paul recovered well enough to be moved South to be near Joie and we talked about once a month till the end.
    Over the years we worked on many projects together. Paul had a passion for the Morris Minor and his willingness to help out on any Morris problem is legendary. The wonderful testaments to his efforts to help anyone with a Morris, found on these pages, says it all!

    Rest in Peace Paul

  24. Patrick Henry Hague says:

    The best thing about owning a Sprite was getting to meet and know Paul. My discovery of his passing tonight made this a very sad evening. I’ll miss ya Paul.
    Patrick.

  25. Dillian Lemmon says:

    Paul was a dear friend to me. I met him through Lil when i was younger and going through family problems. He taught me much about life and many little things. In a sense he was like another father figure to me. I always loved riding in his little blue buggy when i was a kid mainly because it didnt have seat belts and it felt great. I’ll always remember waking up early with him drinking hot cocoa and watching the still water at Camp Magruder. I love and miss paul very much.
    -Dillian.

  26. Angelina Lemmon says:

    I haven’t really been able to come on here and say anything in regards to Paul for a very long time. It’s so hard to lose people you love and are close to. Even now I can barely type.

    Paul meant so much to me. I remember being so fascinated by him when I was a little kid. I literally thought he knew everything. Any question I could think of, he had the answer. I looked up to him as an intelligent and kind-hearted man. My own father didn’t treat me so well, so when I met Paul and we became close it was so refreshing to find a father figure in my life that I could look up to.

    The last time I saw him was when he drove me back home from Portland after visiting Lillis in the hospital after her accident. I can’t even remember what we talked about now, probably all the attention his car gets and about my college life and such, just normal things.

    I miss him so much, as I’m sure all of you do, as well. He was such a good person and the world really does feel a little bit darker without him in it.

    I love you Paul. My life is better for having met you.

  27. Spencer Baker says:

    I just found this page and thinking of Paul made me smile. He was always a wise guiding hand when I posted a question online about a Brit car. I was so glad when I got the chance to meet him in person at the Buster Cluster event in 2006. My sympathies go out to all of Paul’s family and friends.

  28. Jim Johnson says:

    I didn’t know Paul well but had talked with him on the phone a few times in regards to my Midget’s transmission tail piece and drive shaft yoke. I sent the parts to him and he installed a new bushing, honed it to fit the drive shaft yoke curing my oil leak. He also sent me directions for a method to stop the standard oil leak at the back of the crank shaft. Sorry to say, I seem to have buggered that up, Paul.

    I met Paul online via the Spridgets email list where many of the members pointed me toward him and I must say he was a joy to talk with. Even when he was incapacitated (was it a back injury?) he still spent time on the phone with me talking a little about car matters and a lot about family and friends. He found out I was part of the folk music scene in Greenwich Village in the 1960s and said Lillis would enjoy that. We never had the chance to get together.

    When I knew I was going to attend the BusterCluster I dreamed up a little fun at Buster’s expense – an imitation dead cat (roadkill) that my wife made for me. You put a brick in it and it can be used as a dead cat wheel chock. Trouble was, I was coming to the event via motorcycle and couldn’t bring a brick in luggage. When I told Paul about it he assured me he would bring a brick as he was driving to Anaheim. Sure enough, he showed up and had a brick for the joke. He was even more fun in person than on the phone and I’m so glad that I got the chance to meet him in person. It will always be one of the major milestones in my life.

    Frank Clarici and I talked often on the phone about Paul. And then, we lost Frank too. Shortly after Paul. I console myself in the knowledge that the two of them are probably in a garage somewhere in heaven turning wrenches together and exchanging ideas and jokes….

    I look forward to sitting in the garage watching and listening to the two of them someday.

    • Bob Gardner says:

      I treasure the time I spent with all of them at the BusterCluster. What a great week end full of cars, great people, good talk and closeness. I am glad to have been there.

    • Lillis Larson says:

      Thanks for your comments…all true, in my experience. I’m Lillis, and I miss Paul daily. He was such a capable, caring soul. Leaves a big hole that won’t quite be filled. Holiday blessings.

      Lillis Larson

  29. John Welte says:

    I just found this page and wanted to say what a great guy he was. His laughter was infectious. I had my 1952 Morris Minor at his place being worked on at his pace. He was not a type A person, or even a type B. He was just laid back and when he wanted to work on the car he would. I would go over to his place and spend a few hours tinkering on my car with him. I would do a little work under his guidance and he would stop what he was doing to put in a few words of encouragement. I was very saddened to hear of his passing. He was a great guy and I thoroughly enjoyed the many hours I spent with him.

Leave a comment